Tuesday, September 16, 2014

The Scotiabank Giller Prize 2014 ... The Winner is Sean Michaels


The 2014 Scotiabank Giller Prize Longlisted books are:


Important Dates to Remember


September 16, 2014  - Today!


October 6, 2014


November 10, 2014

To find out more about the jury, the finalists, latest new, tweets and more click on the Scotiabank Giller Prize website:



Put a hold on one of these books today.

You never know, the book that you take out may be the wining title.

Stay tuned to this blog for more updates.


Here is the shortlist for the Scotiabank Giller Prize

Check out the following website:
The 2014 Scotiabank Giller Prize jury announced its shortlist on Monday, October 6, 2014, derived from a longlist of 12 books. The jury read an astonishing 161 works of fiction this year, submitted by 63 publishers from every region of the country. In the 21st year of the prize, the jury features Canadian author Shauna Singh Baldwin, British novelist Justin Cartwright, and American writer Francine Prose
Beginning this year, the prize purse doubles, with $100,000 going to the winner and $10,000 to each finalist, making the Scotiabank Giller Prize the richest fiction prize in Canada. The Scotiabank Giller Prize is named in honour of the late literary journalist Doris Giller and was founded in 1994 by her husband, Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch.
The shortlisted finalists for the 2014 Scotiabank Giller Prize are as follows:


David Bezmozgis

bezmozgis-betrayersThe Betrayers
published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd


Frances Itani

published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
ani lives in Ottawa.


Sean Michaels

michaels-conductorsUs Conductors
published by Random House Canada
Read the first few pages.


Heather O’Neill

oneill-saturday2The Girl Who Was Saturday Night
published by HarperCollins Canada


Miriam Toews

toews-punyAll My Puny Sorrows
published by Alfred A. Knopf Canada


Padma Viswanathan

viswanathan-raoThe Ever After of Ashwin Rao
published by Random House Canada

Place a hold on or all the shortlist books for the Scotiabank Giller Prize!

Rick Mercer to host the 2014 Scotiabank Giller Prize Gala


Rick Mercer will host the 2014 Scotiabank Giller Prize gala on Nov. 10. The gala will be broadcast on at 9 p.m. (10 p.m. AT /10:30 NT) on CBC Television and livestreamed on CBC Books. Mercer is best known for his political satire on CBC shows such as This Hour Has 22 Minutes and The Rick Mercer Report.
Joining Rick Mercer at the gala will be celebrity presenters Kim Coates, Jessica Paré and Naomi Klein. Three more presenters will be named at a later date.
The six books in contention for the $100,000 prize are The Betrayers by David Bezmozgis, Tell by Frances Itani, Us Conductors by Sean Michaels, The Girl Who Was Saturday Night by Heather O'Neill , All My Puny Sorrows by Miriam Toews, and The Ever After of Ashwin Rao by Padma Viswanathan.

And the Winner is...... 

Sean Michaels for his debut novel Us Conductors.

Sean Michaels has won the most lucrative literary prize in Canada - the $100,000 Scotiabank Giller Prize - for his debut novel Us Conductors.

For more information please visit the Scotiabank Giller Prize Website

No comments:

Post a Comment