Wednesday, April 1, 2015

2015 Leacock Award Nominees

The Leacock Associates

~ Awarding the annual Leacock Medal for Humour and the TD Financial Group $15,000 prize.


The Leacock Associates

Past Canada Reads-winning author Terry Fallis and Little Mosque on the Prairie creator Zarqa Nawaz are among the contenders for this year's Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour.


Fallis, who won the prize in 2008 for The Best Laid Plans, made the shortlist for his fourth novel, No Relation, while Nawaz is vying for the award for her memoir Laughing All The Way To The Mosque.


The other writers who made the shortlist, which was announced Wednesday, include Great Big Sea frontman Alan Doyle for his memoir Where I Belong, Aaron Bushkowsky for his theatre-inspired novel Curtains For Roy, and Robert Wringham for his essay collection A Loose Egg.


The winner of the $15,000 annual prize, which is presented to the author of the "best book of humour written in the previous year by a Canadian," will be revealed at a luncheon on April 30.


For more information please visit

No comments:

Post a Comment