Friday, September 23, 2011

Author Evening - October 17

The Lincoln Public Library will be hosting an Author Evening on October 17 as part of its 2011 Ontario Public Library Week celebrations.

Sandra Orchard, author of Deep Cover, part of the Harlequin Love Inspired series, will be reading from her works and Elizabeth Mittler, freelance writer will talk about the writing process.

The Author Evening will be held at the Lincoln Centre, 4361 Central Ave. in Beamsville. Doors open at 7:00 p.m. with light refreshments and live jazz music. The reading begins at 7:30 p.m. Tickets are $7 in advance at both Library locations and $10 at the door.

For more details, go to the Library's website - or contact Cathy at 905-562-5711.

Friday, September 16, 2011

October Book Group Title

The Adult Book Group will be reading the Three Cups of Tea for the October adult book club meeting on Thursday October 20 at 1:30 p.m. in the meeting room of the Beamsville library.

For more information, call Jill at 905-563-7014.

Monday, September 12, 2011

September Top Ten

Adult Books

The Help by Kathryn Stockett
The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets Nest by Steig Larsson
Spider Bones by Kathy Reichs
Fall of Giants by Ken Follett
Kill Me If You Can by James Patterson
The Girl Who Played With Fire by Steig Larsson
Sarah's Key by Tatiana de Rosnay
Legacy by Danielle Steel
Don't Blink by James Patterson
Room by Emma Donoghue

Adult DVDs

The Kings Speech
The Green Hornet
I am Number Four
Gnomeo & Juliet
Just Go With It
The Adjustment Bureau
The Tourist
No Strings Attached
True Grit

Thursday, September 8, 2011

2011 Scotiabank Giller Prize Long list


September 6, 2011 (Toronto, ON) – The 2011 Scotiabank Giller Prize jury today announced its longlist of books in the running for this year’s award. The jury selected 16 titles out of 143 books – a record-setting number of submissions – put forward by 55 publishers from every region of Canada.

This year’s jury is made up of: award-winning Canadian writer and 2009 Giller finalist Annabel Lyon; American author, memoirist and Guggenheim fellow Howard Norman; and acclaimed UK playwright and prize-winning novelist Andrew O’Hagan.

Two thousand and eleven marks the 18th year of the prize.

The 143 books of fiction received this year represent a nearly 50% increase in submissions received in any other year since the prize was incepted in 1994.

From a large and highly competitive field, the Scotiabank Giller Prize jury selected the following titles for this year’s longlist:

David Bezmozgis for his novel THE FREE WORLD, HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
Clarke Blaise for his short story collection THE MEAGRE TARMAC, Biblioasis
Lynn Coady for her novel THE ANTAGONIST, House of Anansi Press
Michael Christie for his short story collection THE BEGGAR’S GARDEN, HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.
Patrick DeWitt for his novel THE SISTERS BROTHERS, House of Anansi Press
*Myrna Dey for her novel EXTENSIONS, NeWest Press
Esi Edugyan for her novel HALF-BLOOD BLUES, Thomas Allen Publishers
Marina Endicott for her novel THE LITTLE SHADOWS, Doubleday Canada
Zsuzsi Gartner for her short story collection BETTER LIVING THROUGH PLASTIC EXPLOSIVES, Hamish Hamilton Canada
Genni Gunn for her novel SOLITARIA, Signature Editions
Pauline Holdstock for her novel INTO THE HEART OF THE COUNTRY, HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
Wayne Johnston for his novel A WORLD ELSEWHERE, Knopf Canada
Dany Laferrière for his novel THE RETURN (translation, David Homel), Douglas & McIntyre
Suzette Mayr for her novel MONOCEROS, Coach House Books
Michael Ondaatje for his novel THE CAT’S TABLE, McClelland & Stewart
Guy Vanderhaeghe for his novel A GOOD MAN, McClelland & Stewart
Alexi Zentner for his novel TOUCH, Knopf Canada